Delta College logoDelta College: Serving Bay, Midland, and Saginaw counties since 1961

Delta College Foundation

Delta College Award of Distinction

Delta College has presented the Award of Distinction to two individuals since it was established in 2012.

In 2014, Donald J. Carlyon of Bay City was recognized for more than 50 years of service to Delta. Mr. Carlyon was hired in 1961 as the College's first Business Manager, and he served as Delta College's second President from 1964 to 1992. Since his retirement, he has remained active in the Great Lakes Bay Region, serving as a Delta ambassador on a large number of boards and fundraising for a number of projects, including the Wirt Public Library in Downtown Bay City and a statue to honor Paul Harris, the founder of Rotary International. The statue is located in front of the Pere Marquette Depot in Bay City. 

In 2012, Mary Anderson of Bay City was the first recipient of the award. Mrs. Anderson founded the Delta College Flute Choir in 1974 and served as its director until 2014. The Choir is one of the five oldest flute choirs in the U.S. and the oldest in Michigan. The Anderson Family funded Currents, which is the centerpiece of the Delta Sculpture Walk. Mrs. Anderson taught as an adjunct at Delta College for many years and, in 1985, received the Lynn Heatley Award for Distinguished Service, recognizing outstanding adjunct faculty members at Delta. She retired in 2007 after playing with the Saginaw Bay Symphony Orchestra for 50 years.

The Award of Distinction has been developed to recognize non-alumni who provide outstanding service to Delta College. Professional, personal, civic and philanthropic pursuits that reflect the College’s high standards and values are considered in selecting recipients of the award. (Dr. Jean Goodnow, Delta College's President, poses with the award recipients.)

Delta College Seal

1961 Delta Road, University Center MI 48710 | 989-686-9000 |
Delta College is an Equal Opportunity Organization, committed to excellence through inclusiveness and diversity.
Copyright ©