Delta College logoDelta College: Serving Bay, Midland, and Saginaw counties since 1961


President's Speaker Series

The President's Speaker Series gives students and community members the opportunity to hear nationally- and internationally-known speakers discuss a variety of important issues in the world today. This series is designed to broaden knowledge learned within the walls of a classroom, and to build an appreciation for the diversity of ways of being and thought, and for civic engagement.

The President’s Speaker Series was founded in 1999 under the direction of former Delta College President Donald Carlyon and Communication professor Dr. Nancy Vader-McCormick. The Series has been generously supported by Delta College President Dr. Jean Goodnow, the Delta College Foundation, and the Peter and Barbara Boyse Endowment.

Listening to the Universe for the Sounds of Creation

Wednesday, March 26
Delta College Lecture Theater G160
(see map)

The President’s Speaker Series is proud to host cosmologist and author Dr. Janna Levin. Her scientific research concerns the early universe, chaos and black holes.

Dr. Levin is a professor of Physics and Astronomy at Barnard College at Columbia University and was named a Guggenheim Fellow in 2012. Her debut book "How the Universe Got Its Spots" describes how hot and cold spots may reveal the true size and shape of the universe. Her latest book, "A Madman Dreams of Turing Machines", bridges fiction and non-fiction and reopens questions about the nature of reality and science. This book won the PEN/Bingham Fellowship for Writers. It was also a runner-up for the PEN/Hemingway award.

She holds a BA in Physics and Astronomy from Barnard College with a concentration in Philosophy, and a PhD from MIT in Physics. She has worked at the Center for Particle Astrophysics (CfPA) at the University of California, Berkeley before moving to the UK where she worked at Cambridge University in the Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics (DAMTP). Just before returning to New York, she was the first scientist-in-residence at the Ruskin School of Fine Art and Drawing at Oxford with an award from the National Endowment for Science, Technology, and Arts (NESTA). She has written for many artists and appeared on several radio and television programs.

Learn more about Dr. Janna Levin at or follow her on Twitter as @jannalevin.

This event is free and open to students and community members. For more information about the event, please contact Barb Handley-Miller at 989-686-9198.

Previous Speakers

The President’s Speaker Series has hosted prominent speakers who challenge all of us to think deeply and act responsibly:

  • 2013-2014 Stephen Prothero
  • 2012-2013 Peter Beinart and Noah Goldberg
  • 2011-2012 Erin Gruwell, Susan Pinker
  • 2010-2011 Richard Heinzl, Robert Kenner
  • 2009-2010 Charles Wheelan
  • 2008-2009 Paul Glastris and Stephen Hayes, Tzeporah Berman
  • 2007-2008 Breaking Ice Diversity Group, John Torreano
  • 2006-2007 Marion Nestle, Kevin Sites
  • 2005-2006 Roland Fryer, Thomas Perls
  • 2004-2005 Eric Alterman and Monica Crowley, Sonia Monzano
  • 2003-2004 Herman Boone
  • 2002-2003 Carl Bernstein, Naomi Tutu
  • 2001-2002 David McAuley, Betty Williams
  • 2001-2001 Alvin Pouissant, Terry Roberts
  • 1999-2001 Bertice Berry, Ray Suarez

Committee Members

The President’s Speaker Series Committee plans themes, speakers and coordinates events. 

  • Barb Handley-Miller, Chair
  • Nancy Vader-McCormick
  • Kirk Wolf
  • David Baskind
  • Kimberly Klein
  • Linda Holoman
  • Angela Sinclair

Delta College Seal

1961 Delta Road, University Center MI 48710 | 989-686-9000 |
Delta College is an Equal Opportunity Organization, committed to excellence through inclusiveness and diversity.
Copyright ©