Delta College logoDelta College: Serving Bay, Midland, and Saginaw counties since 1961

Science Division

Science Olympiad

The 2015 competition is scheduled for Saturday, February 21, 2015.  We look forward to seeing you there.

2014 Science Olympiad Tournament: Thank You!

A big thank you to all who volunteered their time to help with the 2014 Science Olympiad Competition on Saturday, March 15. The Science Division, along with volunteers from the Health and Wellness, Technical and Trades, Math Divisions, and area professionals from outside Delta, hosted almost 300 middle and high school students from across the Great Lakes Bay Region. The students competed in 46 different events spanning all areas of science including chemistry, biology, physics, geology, and astronomy.

The top two middle schools (Millington Jr High, and Jefferson Middle School) and top three high schools (Bay City Western, Nouvel Catholic Central, and Frankenmuth High) advanced to the state tournament in East Lansing on April 26.


Contributions to this successful event were made from many areas across the College including: Admissions, Bookstore, Facilities Management, Printing Services, Fitness Center, Food Services, Marketing Office, Science Division faculty, OIT, Public Safety, Room Scheduling, Student Services, and many student volunteers!

Among the many people who worked extra hours to make the event extraordinary, special thanks go out to our Science Division faculty and staff.


Exploring the World of Science!

Science Olympiad is a science education program created to increase student interest in science and improve the quality of science education. Initiated 29 years ago in Michigan, Science Olympiad is now a National program. The Delta College Science Division has been hosting the Science Olympiad Competition each spring since 2007. Science Olympiad promotes hands-on, problem solving, and skill-building activities in:

  • Life, Personal & Social Science
  • Earth & Space Science
  • Physical Science & Chemistry
  • Technology & Engineering
  • Inquiry & Nature of Science

2015 Contact Information (Co-Directors)

Patricia Wood, Biology Laboratory Manager, Delta College, or 989-686-9628

Aurelian Balan, Physics, Delta College, or 989-686-9412

Jonathan Gittins, Chemistry, Delta College, or 989-686-9175

Delta College Seal

1961 Delta Road, University Center MI 48710 | 989-686-9000 |
Delta College is an Equal Opportunity Organization, committed to excellence through inclusiveness and diversity.
Copyright ©